Abstract 99. Jahrestagung der DOG, 29. 9. - 2. 10. 01 im ICC, Berlin

Anmeldung zur Tagung
Allgemeiner Ablauf
   General overview
Wissenschaftliches Programm
   Scientific program
Frühstück mit Spezialisten
   Breakfast with specialists
   Social program
DOG Information
   DOG Information
Allgemeine Informationen
   General Information
   Index of Authors
   Registration fees

Neuroretinal Rim Shape and Regional Visibility of the Retinal Nerve Fiber Layer in South Indians

1Nestel A., 2George R., 2Thomas R., 3Muliyel J. P., 1Jonas J. B.

1Department of Ophthalmology, Faculty for Clinical Medicine Mannheim of the University Heidelberg; 2Department of Ophthalmology, Christian Medical College, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, Indien; 3Department of Community Health, Christian Medical College, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, Indien

Purpose: The neuroretinale rim is the intrapapillary equivalent of the optic nerve fibers, and by that, the most important intrapapillary parameter for the quantification of the retinal ganglion cell axons. Besides its size, it is the shape of the neuroretional rim which is of utmost importance for the early diagnosis of glaucomatous optic neuropathy. Since the morphology of the optic nerve head depends on the ethnic background, it was the purpose of the present study to evaluate the shape of the neuroretinal rim in a South Indian population. Additionally, the ophthalmoscopic visibility of the retinal nerve fiber layer as second parameter for the assessment of the optic nerve should be examined.
Patients and Methods: The study included 73 ophthalmologically unremarkable subjects living in a suburb of Vellore, Tamil Nadu, South India. The subjects were randomly chosen and asked to participate in a routine eye examination and in the study. All subjects were adults (age range, 35-65 years) and were part of a population based sample that had been investigated 5 years prior to the start of the present study. The subjects of the present study formed a randomly selected subgroup of subjects who were called for a follow-up examination. The study group was compared with a control group consisting of 50 Caucasian subjects. Color stereo optic disc photographs taken of all subjects included in the study were evaluated.
Results: The neuroretinal rim had a characteristic configuration. It was significantly (P<0.001) the widest at the inferior optic disc pole, followed by the superior disc pole, the nasal optic disc region, and it was thinnest in the temporal region of the optic disc. The shape of the neuroretinal rim thus fulfilled the "ISN´T" rule. The neuroretinal rim shape was independent (P>0.10) of the optic disc size, the area of the neuroretinal rim, the optic cup depth, the presence and size of zones alpha and beta of the parapapillary atrophy, age, right or left eye, gender and refractive error. Corresponding to the shape of the neuroretinal rim, the ophthalmoscopic visibility of the retinal nerve fiber layer was significantly (P<0.01) the best in the temporal inferior fundus region, followed by the temporal superior fundus region.
Conclusions: Thee neuroretinal rim shows in South Indians as well as in Caucasians a characteristic shape according to the "ISN´T" rule. This rim shape is independent of the ocular and general parameters mentioned above. Correspondingly, the ophthalmoscopic visibility of the retinal nerve fiber layer is better temporal inferiorly than temporal superiorly. These findings may be of importance for the diagnosis of glaucomatous optic nerve damage in Asiatic patients.

DOG HomepageZurück / Back

Abstract 99. Jahrestagung der DOG, 29. 9. - 2. 10. 01 im ICC, Berlin

Anmeldung zur Tagung
   Registration
Grußwort
   Invitation
Themen
   Topics
Allgemeiner Ablauf
   General overview
Wissenschaftliches Programm
   Scientific program
Kurse
   Courses
Symposien
   Symposiums
Frühstück mit Spezialisten
   Breakfast with specialists
Arzthelferinnen-Fortbildung
Rahmenprogramm
   Social program
DOG Information
   DOG Information
Allgemeine Informationen
   General Information
Autorenindex
   Index of Authors
Ausstellerliste
   Exhibitors
Sponsoren
   Sponsors
Teilnahmegebühren
   Registration fees
Impressum



Form des neuretinalen Randsaumes und regionale Sichtbarkeit der retinalen Nervenfaserschicht in Normalaugen von Südindern

1Nestel A., 2George R., 2Thomas R., 3Muliyel J. P., 1Jonas J. B.

1Universitäts-Augenklinik der Fakultät für klinischen Medizin Mannheim der Universität Heidelberg; 2Department of Ophthalmology, Christian Medical College, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, Indien; 3Department of Community Health, Christian Medical College, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, Indien

Hintergrund: Der neuroretinale Randsaum ist das intrapapilläre Äquivalent der Sehnervenfasern und damit der wichtigste intrapapilläre quantitative Parameter zur Quantifizierung der Sehnervenfasern. Neben der Größe ist insbesondere die Form des neuroretinalen Randsaums von grundlegender Bedeutung für das Erkennen eines frühen Glaukomschadens. Da die Papillenmorphologie vom ethnischen Hintergrund abhängt, war das Ziel der vorliegenden Studie, in einer epidemiologisch basiert selektierten Bevölkerungsgruppe Südindiens die Form des neuroretinalen Randsaums zu untersuchen. Zusätzlich sollte die ophthalmoskopische Sichtbarkeit der retinalen Nervenfaserschicht als zweiter Parameter zur Beurteilung der Sehnervenfaseranzahl evaluiert werden.
Patienten und Methode: Die prospektive, epidemiologische, nicht interventionelle Studie umfaßte 73 ophthalmologisch unauffällige Bewohner einer Vorortes von Vellore in Tamil Nadu / Südindien. Die Probanden wurden zufällig ausgewählt und gebeten, an einer allgemeinen Augenuntersuchung teilzunehmen. Alle Probanden waren erwachsen mit einem Altersbereich von 35 bis 65 Jahren. Sie waren Teil einer Bevölkerungs basierten Selektion von Probanden, die 5 Jahre früher untersucht worden war. Die Probanden der gegenwärtigen Studie bildeten eine zufällig ausgesuchte Untergruppe, die für eine erneute Untersuchung erneut zur Untersuchung gebeten worden war. Die Studiengruppe wurde mit einer Gruppe von 50 kaukasischen Probanden verglichen. Für alle Probanden wurden farbige Papillenstereophotographien angefertigt und untersucht.
Ergebnisse: Der neuroretinale Randsaum hatte eine charakteristische Form. Er war signifikant (P<0,001) am breitesten am unteren Papillenpol, gefolgt vom oberen Papillenpol, dem nasalen Papillenpol, und er war am schmalsten in der temporalen Papillenregion. Die Randsaumform folgte damit der sogenannten "ISN´T Regel". Die Form des neuroretinalen Randsaums war statistisch (P>0,10) unabhängig von der Papillengröße, der Fläche des neuroretinalen Randsaumes, der Exkavationstiefe, dem Vorkommen und der Größe der Zonen Alpha und Beta der parapapillären Atrophie, Alter, Seite, Geschlecht und Ametropie. Korrespondierend zur Form des neuroretinalen Randsaumes war die Sichtbarkeit der retinalen Nervenfaserschicht signifikant (P<0,01) am besten im temporal unteren Bereich, gefolgt vom temporal oberen Bereich.
Schlußfolgerungen: Der neuroretinale Randsaum hat in Südindern wie in Kaukasiern eine charakteristische Form entsprechend der "ISN´T Regel". Diese Randsaumform ist unabhängig von den o.a. okulären oder allgemeinen Parametern. Korrespondierend ist in der Regel die ophthalmoskopische Sichtbarkeit der retinalen Nervenfaserschicht temporal unten besser als temporal oben. Diese Befunde sind möglicherweise von Bedeutung für die Glaukomdiagnostik von asiatischen Patienten.




DOG HomepageZurück / Back