Abstract 99. Jahrestagung der DOG, 29. 9. - 2. 10. 01 im ICC, Berlin

Anmeldung zur Tagung
   Registration
Grußwort
   Invitation
Themen
   Topics
Allgemeiner Ablauf
   General overview
Wissenschaftliches Programm
   Scientific program
Kurse
   Courses
Symposien
   Symposiums
Frühstück mit Spezialisten
   Breakfast with specialists
Arzthelferinnen-Fortbildung
Rahmenprogramm
   Social program
DOG Information
   DOG Information
Allgemeine Informationen
   General Information
Autorenindex
   Index of Authors
Ausstellerliste
   Exhibitors
Sponsoren
   Sponsors
Teilnahmegebühren
   Registration fees
Impressum



Ocular Involvement in Patients with Miliary Tuberculosis - Examinations in Mexico

¹Tenorio Guajardo G., 3Froehlich S. J., 1Sanchez Santiago R., 2Cueto G., 2Escobedo L.,
3Miño de Kaspar H.

¹Eye department, ²Pulmonological Department, General Hospital of Mexico City; ³Department of Ophthalmology, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany

Introduction: Infection with Mycobacterium tuberculosis is still of great importance mainly in developing countries. Because of the worldwide increase of AIDS, its role gets more and more important also in industrialized countries. Haematogenous infection, the so-called miliary tuberculosis, belongs to the most severe forms. This study is made to assess the frequency of ocular involvement in HIV-negative patients with miliary tuberculosis.
Methods: In this prospective study, a total of 28 patients with miliary tuberculosis was examined ophthalmologically between 1997 and 2000. All patients were refered from pulmonologists. Diagnosis was made by detection of rods in expectoration, by X-ray screening, puncture of bone marrow, blood and urine analysis. All patients were HIV-negative according to the ELISA-test.
Results: In 23 of 28 patients (82%), ophthalmological examination revealed no pathological findings. In 5 patients (18%), we found alterations of the fundus which can be attributed to miliary tuberculosis. In 1 case a chorioretinic scar at the posterior pole, in 1 case a peripheral vasculitis and in 1 case a granuloma of the choroid could be seen. 2 patients showed a multifocal choroiditis.
Discussion: Most reports on ocular tuberculosis derive from patients with AIDS. According to the results of this study, in 18% of the HIV-negative patients with miliary tuberculosis ocular involvement could be observed. The most common finding was a posterior uveitis. Prognosis depends strictly on the time of diagnosis.



DOG HomepageZurück / Back

Abstract 99. Jahrestagung der DOG, 29. 9. - 2. 10. 01 im ICC, Berlin

Anmeldung zur Tagung
   Registration
Grußwort
   Invitation
Themen
   Topics
Allgemeiner Ablauf
   General overview
Wissenschaftliches Programm
   Scientific program
Kurse
   Courses
Symposien
   Symposiums
Frühstück mit Spezialisten
   Breakfast with specialists
Arzthelferinnen-Fortbildung
Rahmenprogramm
   Social program
DOG Information
   DOG Information
Allgemeine Informationen
   General Information
Autorenindex
   Index of Authors
Ausstellerliste
   Exhibitors
Sponsoren
   Sponsors
Teilnahmegebühren
   Registration fees
Impressum



Okuläre Manifestationen bei Miliartuberkulose - Untersuchungen in Mexiko

¹Tenorio Guajardo G., ³Fröhlich S. J., ¹Sanchez Santiago R., 2Cueto G., 2Escobedo L., ³Miño de Kaspar H.

¹Augenabteilung, ²Pneumologie, Hospital General de Mexico, Mexico City ³Augenklinik der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Mathildenstr. 8, D-80336 München

Einleitung: Die Infektion mit Mycobacterium tuberculosis ist in den Entwicklungsländern nach wie vor von großer Bedeutung, nimmt aber mit der Verbreitung von AIDS auch in den Industrieländern zu. Die hämatogene Infektion, auch Miliartuberkulose genannt, gehört zu den schwerwiegendsten Formen der Erkrankung. Die vorliegende Arbeit soll Aufschluss über die Häufigkeit der Augenbeteiligung bei Miliartuberkulose HIV-negativer Patienten geben.
Methoden: Bei dieser prospektiven Studie wurden im Zeitraum zwischen 1997 und 2000 insgesamt 28 Patienten mit Miliartuberkulose ophthalmologisch untersucht. Die Patienten wurden von der Abteilung für Pneumologie überwiesen. Die Diagnosestellung erfolgte mittels Nachweis säurefester Stäbchen im Expektorat sowie mittels Röntgenuntersuchung, Knochenmarkspunktion, Blut- und Urinanalyse. Alle Patienten waren HIVnegativ im ELISA-Test.
Ergebnisse: Bei 23 der 28 Patienten (82%) wurde ein regelrechter ophthalmologischer Status erhoben. Bei 5 der 28 Patienten (18%) wurden Veränderungen am Augenhintergrund gefunden, die mit der Miliartuberkulose in Zusammenhang gebracht werden können. In 1 Fall lag eine chorioretinitische Narbe am hinteren Pol vor, in 1 Fall eine periphere Vaskulitis sowie ebenso in 1 Fall ein Aderhautgranulom. Bei 2 Patienten zeigte sich eine multiple Choroiditis.
Diskussion: Die meisten Berichte über okuläre Tuberkulose liegen von Patienten mit AIDS vor. Nach den Ergebnissen dieser Studie kann es bei HIV-negativen Patienten mit Miliartuberkulose in etwa 18% der Fälle zur Augenbeteiligung, v.a. in Form einer posterioren Uveitis, kommen. Die Prognose hängt entscheidend vom Zeitpunkt der Diagnosestellung ab.




DOG HomepageZurück / Back