Museums and Collections

On this pages you will find links to ophthalmological collections and ophthalmo-historical projects.

Albrecht von Graefe – Collection of the German Society of Ophthalmology at the Berlin Medical History Museum

In 1886, sixteen years after the death of Albrecht von Graefe (1828-1870), his friend, the physiologist and ophthalmologist Frans Cornelis Donders, proposed to collect the letters of this important Berlin ophthalmologist. At that time, however, a large part of the Graefe estate had already been sold. In 2002, the collection, which has since grown to about 1050 objects, more than 90 per cent of which are autographs and books, came to the Berlin Medical History Museum on permanent loan from the German Ophthalmological Society. Here it is to be conserved, archived, digitised and made accessible for scientific processing. A newly created section in the museum’s permanent exhibition presents some important pieces to the public.

Antique Spectacles Webseite

This English website is about the 700+ year history of the optical lens. It is unique and a serious project filled with history, science, culture and art. For details see the overview and introduction. There is a huge Virtual Museum with more than 110 slide shows. You may like the many interesting topics that have been developed. Especially look at the list of participating European museums and also the professional organisations that have contributed to this international group work and are now publishing it.
This website has over 300 pages, you can find the table of contents here.

Albrecht von Graefe’s ophthalmological correspondence with witnesses of his time

“The importance of Graefe’s is so great that in 20, 30 and 40 years the interest will not only not be less than today, but will most probably appear in a completely different historical light”, Otto Becker, 1889 at a meeting of the German Ophthalmological Society.

Eyewitness
As early as 1887, enthusiastic opthalomologists began to collect Albrecht von Graefe’s remains. Among them is an extensive correspondence that von Graefe maintained with important ophthalmologists of his time. In order to provide interested parties with an insight into these letters, which are important in the history of science, the DOG Deutsche Ophthalmologische Gesellschaft together with the Berlin Medical History Museum of the Charité, has published a selection of letters: About a quarter of the total volume of correspondence has been edited in a book and made accessible to posterity.

Departure
Like no other field, ophthalmology experienced a surge of innovation around 1850. Helmholtz’s ophthalmoscope made retinal detachments, macular degeneration and many other eye diseases visible for the first time, which until then had been grouped together as “black cataracts”. At this time, ophthalmology emancipated itself as an independent subject. Albrecht von Graefe was a driving force in this change towards a science-oriented medicine. Initially ridiculed by sceptics as a “fashionable doctor”, in 1857 he succeeded for the first time in treating glaucoma by iridectomy.

Exchange
Albrecht von Graefe invited “revolutionary” like-minded people to Heidelberg for a collegial exchange: The foundation stone for the “German Ophthalmological Society” is laid. From then on, ophthalmologists meet annually, initially in small circles, to discuss the latest surgical methods and therapies. Even away from the Heidelberg meetings, von Graefe kept in touch with this circle of progress-oriented ophthalmologists. His estate, in which numerous professional letters to important ophthalmologists of his time have been preserved, also bears witness to this. They authentically convey the spirit of optimism in ophthalmology at that time.

Comprehensive information on von Graefe’s life’s work is also provided by the DOG’s Albrecht von Graefe Collection of over 1000 exhibits in the Berlin Medical History Museum of the Charité:

Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
Tel.: 030 450-536129
Fax: 030 450 536 905
www.bmm-charite.de

Museen und Sammlungen

Albrecht von Graefe – Sammlung der Deutschen Ophthalmologischen Gesellschaft am Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum

Im Jahre 1886, sechzehn Jahre nach dem Tod Albrecht von Graefes (1828-1870), schlug sein Freund, der Physiologe und Augenarzt Frans Cornelis Donders, vor, die Briefe dieses bedeutenden Berliner Augenarztes zu sammeln. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war allerdings ein großer Teil des Graefe-Nachlasses bereits verkauft worden. Im Jahre 2002 ist die Sammlung, die mittlerweile auf etwa 1050 Objekte, davon zu mehr als 90 Prozent Autographen und Bücher, angewachsen ist, als Dauerleihgabe der Deutschen Ophthalmologischen Gesellschaft an das Berliner Medizinhistorische Museum gelangt. Hier soll sie konserviert, archiviert, digitalisiert und der wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung zugänglich gemacht werden. Eine neu geschaffene Abteilung in der Dauerausstellung des Museums stellt einige bedeutende Stücke der Öffentlichkeit vor.

Antique Spectacles Website

This website is related to the over 700 year history of the optical lens. It is unique and it is a serious project filled with history, science, culture, and art. Please review the Overview and the Introduction. There is a huge Virtual Museum with more than 110 slideshows. You might enjoy all the Interesting Topics which have been developed. Especially peruse the list of participating European Museums and also the Professional Organizations which have recognized and now publicized this international group effort.
This website has over 300 web pages (so far) and here are the Table of Contents.

Albrecht von Graefe’s ophthalmologischer Briefwechsel mit Zeugen seiner Zeit

„Die Bedeutung von Gaefe´s ist so gross, dass das Interesse in 20, 30 und 40 Jahren nicht blos nicht kleiner sein wird als heute, sondern höchst wahrscheinlich noch in ganz anderem historischen Lichte erscheinen wird“,
Otto Becker, 1889 auf einer Sitzung der Deutschen Ophthalmologischen Gesellschaft.

Augenzeuge
Bereits 1887 begannen begeisterte Opthalomologen den Nachlass Albrecht von Graefes zu sammeln. Darunter findet sich auch eine umfangreiche Korrespondenz, die von Graefe mit bedeutenden Augenärzten seiner Zeit unterhielt. Um Interessierten einen Einblick in diese wissenschaftshistorisch bedeutsamen Briefe zu ermöglichen, plant die DOG Deutsche Ophthalmologische Gesellschaft zusammen mit dem Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité, eine Auswahl von Briefen zu veröffentlichen: Etwa ein Viertel des Gesamtkonvoluts der Schriftstücke wird jetzt in einem Buch aufgearbeitet und der Nachwelt zugänglich gemacht.

Aufbruch
Wie kein anderes Fachgebiet erfuhr die Augenheilkunde um 1850 einen Innovationsschub. Durch den Helmholtzschen Augenspiegel sind erstmals Netzhautablösungen, Makuladegeneration und viele andere Augenerkrankungen sichtbar, die bis dahin als „Schwarzen Star“ zusammengefasst waren. In dieser Zeit emanzipiert sich die Augenheilkunde als eigenständiges Fach. Albrecht von Graefe war eine treibende Kraft in diesem Umbruch hin zu einer naturwissenschaftlich orientierten Medizin. Zunächst von Skeptikern als „Modearzt“ belächelt, gelingt ihm 1857 erstmals die Behandlung des Grünen Stars durch die Iridektomie.

Austausch
Albrecht von Graefe lädt damals „revolutionäre“ Gleichgesinnte zum kollegialen Austausch nach Heidelberg ein: Der Grundstein für die „Deutsche Ophthalmologische Gesellschaft“ ist gelegt. Zunächst in kleinen Zirkeln treffen sich von da an jährlich Augenärzte, um neueste Operationsmethoden und Therapien zu diskutieren. Auch abseits der Heidelberger Treffen hält von Graefe regen Kontakt zu diesem Zirkel an fortschrittsorientierten Augenärzten. Davon zeugt auch sein Nachlass, in dem zahlreiche fachliche Briefe an bedeutende Augenärzte seiner Zeit erhalten sind. Sie transportieren authentisch die damalige Aufbruchsstimmung in der Augenheilkunde.

Aufgabe
Gemeinsam haben das Medizinhistorische Museum der Charité und die DOG es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dieses Erbe bedeutender ophthalmologischer Zeitzeugen zu erschließen. Zuvor gilt es jedoch, die Korrespondenz zu beurteilen, zu sortieren und zu gewichten. Auch die wissenschaftlich-editorische Sortierung, Transkription und nicht zuletzt Gestaltung, Druck und Verlag des Buches verursachen Kosten. Um diesen einzigartigen Nachlass der Nachwelt übergeben zu können, benötigen wir deshalb Ihre Unterstützung. Leisten Sie mit einer Spende einen Beitrag dazu, ein Stück ophthalmologische Geschichte wieder lebendig zu machen.

Fragen zum Projekt beantworten wir jederzeit gerne. Richten Sie diese bitte an die
Geschäftsstelle der DOG
Platenstr. 1
80336 München
Tel.: 089 5505 768-15
Fax: 089 5505 768-11
E-Mail

Umfassende Informationen zum Lebenswerk von Graefes bietet auch die über 1000 Exponate zählende Albrecht von Graefe-Sammlung der DOG im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité:

Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
Tel.: 030 450-536129
Fax: 030 450 536 905
www.bmm.charite.de