History of German Ophthalmology

Research and science are characterised by dynamism, change and the constant questioning of what is currently valid. A society like the DOG, which wants to offer research and science a framework and a forum, must also meet this challenge and be able to adapt quickly and flexibly to changing conditions

The past 150 years show that this is precisely what distinguishes the DOG. And this ability to adapt flexibly to current necessities, the rapid absorption of currents and developments, the thoroughly controversial but ultimately always goal-oriented internal discourse are responsible for the fact that the DOG, despite its 150 years, is a young, dynamic and very tradition-conscious society, but always forward-looking.

150th anniversary of the death of DOG founder Albrecht von Graefe

“Today we should measure ourselves by his example”.
Munich, January 2020 – This year, the DOG – German Society of Ophthalmology will commemorate its founder Albrecht von Graefe, who died 150 years ago. With a wreath-laying ceremony at the monument to the famous ophthalmologist near Berlin’s Charité hospital, a symposium edicatd to von Graefe, a visit to the Albrecht von Graefe School in Berlin-Kreuzberg and a new Graefe biography, the DOG wants above all to recall the timeless values that von Graefe represented. The Berlin ophthalmologist succumbed to tuberculosis on 20 July 1870.

You can find out more about the life and work of Albrecht von Graefe on the specially set up website.

Historisches

Forschung und Wissenschaft sind durch Dynamik, Wandel und durch das ständige Hinterfragen des gegenwärtig Gültigen gekennzeichnet. Eine Gesellschaft wie die DOG, die Forschung und Wissenschaft einen Rahmen und ein Forum bieten will, muss sich diesem Anspruch ebenfalls stellen und muss sich veränderten
Rahmenbedingungen schnell und flexibel anpassen können. Die vergangenen 150 Jahre zeigen, dass die DOG gerade dieses auszeichnet. Und diese Fähigkeit der flexiblen Anpassung an die gegenwärtigen Notwendigkeiten, das rasche Aufnehmen von Strömungen und Entwicklungen, der durchaus kontroverse, letztlich aber immer zielführende innergesellschaftliche Diskurs sind dafür verantwortlich, dass die DOG trotz ihrer 150 Jahre, eine junge, eine dynamische, eine durchaus sehr traditionsbewusste, in ihrer Blickrichtung aber stets vorwärtsgerichtete Gesellschaft ist.

150. Todestag des DOG-Gründers Albrecht von Graefe

„Wir sollten uns heute an seinem Vorbild messen“
München, Januar 2020 – Die DOG – Deutsche Ophthalmologische Gesellschaft wird in diesem Jahr ihres Gründers Albrecht von Graefe gedenken, der vor 150 Jahren verstarb. Mit einer Kranzniederlegung am Denkmal des berühmten Augenarztes an der Berliner Charité, einem Kongress-Festsymposium, dem Besuch der Albrecht von Graefe Schule in Berlin-Kreuzberg und einer neuen Graefe-Biographie will die Fachgesellschaft vor allem an die zeitlosen Werte erinnern, die von Graefe vertrat. Der Berliner Ophthalmologe erlag am 20. Juli 1870 einer Tuberkulose.

Mehr zu Leben und Werk von Albrecht von Graefe finden Sie auf der eigens dafür eingerichteten Webseite